How many World Series trophies are there?



The Commissioner’s Cup is the biggest award in baseball, but it’s not the only one in the World Series. Read here to check out the number of prizes in the popular Fall Classic.

The 2017 Houston Astros lift the Commissioner's Cup
© Kevork Djansisian / Getty ImagesThe 2017 Houston Astros lift the Commissioner’s Cup

Since 1903, the World Championship It is the biggest stage in baseball with the traditional matching between American League and the National League Champions. although fall classic Representing a massive history, there hasn’t always been a trophy for the winner.

before starting a file World Championship At the beginning of the 20th century, some official baseball trophies were awarded which served as strong precedents. At the same time, we have to bear in mind that, for the time being, Commissioner’s Cup It is not the only award given during such an important sporting event.

If you are already thinking about the number of files World Championship The awards are there, in this article you can check this number and why, some of them are not yet in the US.

How many world championships?

The first thing you should know is that he was there 46 World Championship. although fall classic Started in 1903, the cup was first awarded in 1967 when the St. Louis Cardinals beat Boston Red Sox. Prior to that year, the tradition was to present each player with a ring as the greatest symbol of victory. No cup, only rings.

However, we can find precedents before the existence of World Championship: The Duvray Cup (1887-1893) and Temple Cup (1894-1893 in the Postseason National League). Although the actual trophy appeared in 1967, the award got its name as Commissioner’s Cup Until 1985. Another important statistic is that in 1994, the cup was not awarded due to MLB . Strike. who are they 46 cupstwo of them are located outside the United States given Toronto Blue Jays He won the championship in 1992 and 1993.

during the World ChampionshipThere is also a single cup. The Willie Mays Player of the Year Award Goes to the best performance during fall classic. The MVP award is voted on by the journalists and officials who cover the series on the site. In 2017, the trophy was named Willie Mays in honor of his exceptional legacy.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.